Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Ep 87 Joy & Dementia Nicole Will & Carrie Alberts

Aside Note….HONOR, JOY & Dementia…..this article is a lot of personal stuff about my dad who suffers from Dementia. I apologize. Hope it helps someone.

Dementia is real but we can gather & stand together as a community - that loved ones are HONORED that caregivers have HOPE.

Our family, my family have been impacted by Dementia. My dad is 91 years old and has Dementia, heart failure and is in at home hospice.

My mom is his primary caregiver. She is 85 years old and it is just too much for her to do everything my dad requires.

We thank our Angel, Brenda J.

She is one of those caregivers that has been there and served my father with love, patience and skill (expertise).

Over years, she has learned a ton and she has been fortunate to be that Angel, the caregiver that has been with several other families and their loved one towards his/her very last days. The power of word of mouth.

At this point, my dad requires a lot of assistance: bathing, dressing, toileting, feeding.

Patience, time together, smiles. Each day, he continues to forget, conversations are shorter. As a son, I feel guilty even though he is still around. Can I help my mom more? Can I be a better son? Caregiver support means a lot. What more should I be doing.

My dad is in hospice and it has been the first time that healthcare has made sense. No more unnecessary doctors visits, tests and hospitalizations.

My dad is frail not a good candidate for any surgery.

Why did it take soon long for the decision making process from the hospitalist or care provider to guide my mom in the right care?

AI will only make healthcare worse until we elevate our healthcare decision making and are aligned with payment and practice.

It was not until the second hospitalization, 2 hospitalizations within a 12 day period that my mom was approached by the Palliative Care NP.

Care decisions are Complex.

As a primary caregiver, (my mom) it is to much to have the burden on her alone to make these decisions.

Hospice provides a great dignified treatment service.

My dad is receiving his hospice care in his home setting.

My mom now finally has a lot more care resources but most importantly she has access to a 24 x 7 Nurse which she has not had to use yet, thank God.

It was that last night prior to the hospitalization that was the most difficult.

I was there.

The paramedics were there and my dad was like hell or the highway.

He was dead set he was not going to the hospital.

He said I am not Going.

The next morning, at 5 o’clock I had stayed at my parents place and my dad cried out. He was ready to go now to the hospital.

Yes, healthcare is real. AI can do a lot. But human to human and good decision making needs to be in our system.

Nicole & Carrie, our special, amazing guests…..

We thank Nicole and Carrie for coming on the show and providing us resources Joy, community, and resources.

We also thank them for all the work in empowering a community of professionals, caregivers in everything they do.

Connect with Carrie - Linkedin

Dementia Darling

Dementia Darling - Instagram

Resources & Events

Zinnia TV - Dementia TV

Magazine for Dementia -

Hilarity for Charity - Seth Rogen

Cleveland Clinic

Power of Love Gala 2023

Share

Learn more about Nicole Will and what she is doing

Nicole - on Linkedin

Willgather

Nicole's Podcast- Will Gather Podcast

GigiBettyCo

Nicole on Facebook

Nicole - Willgather on Instagram

Youtube

Planetary Health First Mars Next is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

0 Comments
Planetary Health First Mars Next
Planetary Health First Mars Next
We are on a mission to transform healthcare by building a dynamic robust diverse community.
Topics include: startups, digital health, health IT, technology in healthcare, payers, hospitals, healthcare systems, pharma, biotech, culture, change, leadership.
Audience is healthcare executives, leaders, healthcare administrators.