Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript

Ep 109 Global Citizen: Digital Health Leader, Making your own Career Path with Joia Nuñez

Joia Nuñez LinkedIn

Takeaways from the conversation

Ongoing and Upcoming Research Projects

it seems like with the population, you're, you're getting a lot of research, a lot of opportunity to further do other things. Yeah, exactly. We, we had, um, a NIH project that, uh, helped us validate our tool and our platform. And we have several ongoing projects validating different areas of knowledge that we need to improve. We have some research done on growth hormone deficiency. Now we're working with type 1 diabetes and obesity. And we have new new projects coming up on different types of cancer and some other diseases as well.

The Value of Learning Over Certifications

Well, yeah, coming from a medical discipline, my own field, my own network was filled with people showing their newest achievements or their, I don't know, the last courses they took, the last certifications they took. Someone told me that that was very nice and it's something that you need to have to do your job, but no one needs to know that you did that in order to be appreciated. And it would be like the equivalent to broadcast that you have a driver's license when you're driving your car. It's not necessary to broadcast that, but if you need to have it to be able to do it. So that was like the first piece of advice I guess I took. And I realized that it's not necessarily constructive to show all the certifications and that I took, but what I learned from that, and that's much more valuable for other people.

How to Choose the Right Conferences

It seems like... It also depends on your own objective with each event. If it's just for network, if you want to sell services, if you want to sell products, if you want to get providers, if you want to invest, if you want to get funding. I think that you need to have a very clear objective on what you're looking for, and then the decision will become more evident. Also, there's the geographical effect. You can't be everywhere at once, and there are some conferences that are more accessible than others, both in terms of, I don't know... geographical area but also economically economically wise no you're totally right….

Challenges in U.S. Healthcare System and Adhera's Innovative Approach

I commend you guys really digging deep because our healthcare system just is not focused in the U S on getting reimbursed through the caregiver and providing, they don't even really do a good job recognizing the patient. It's so provider oriented. payer focus. So I really commend you as a company to really digging deep on that because it's so needed in healthcare because that's an opportunity lost, that caregiver voice. Yeah, exactly. Well, being a family caregiver is like a full-time job and it's very difficult to take time off, to trust somebody else to do it. And it's well studied and described that the burden that they feel leads to more stress, more angst, poor health outcomes. And that's what we're dealing with. And that's what we aim to improve.

Reflecting on Career and Future Aspirations

Well, I think that it took me so long to get here that I'm really enjoying the moment. It was my wish from seven years in the past was to be where I'm now. So now I'm really happy with my situation professionally, my job, my living situation. But I think that traveling is something that motivates me and I'd like to experience that being able to work remotely or having work-related travels or just being a digital nomad. I don't really know in what way, but I see myself traveling a lot these next few years. Also, well, that has to do with the living situation. I also found that in the last few years, I was very meticulously or very conscious about my work-life balance, and I'm now able to adjust that very well.

Overcoming Digital Imprint Fears and Personal Branding

Well, for me, it was like a process as well because I had all these ideas and prejudgments or, I don't know, preconcepts that I struggled with. Like I was, I don't know, super concerned or worried about making a digital imprint and saying something that, I don't know, I would look back years from now and say what was what was I thinking and stuff like that and I felt that that was like I don't know I felt ashamed about that or embarrassed. So I had to deal with my own self emotional process and at some point I learned that the same way I felt embarrassed. There was a lot of people that wasn't feeling embarrassed and was getting a lot of attention and opportunities for speaking their minds and stating their points of view. And that was also a lesson that I learned, starting to create my own personal statement, like my point of view, having opinions, having thoughts, creating content, sharing, and also making it visible.

The Ongoing Effort and Trial and Error of Content Creation

So that was a lot of effort because it needs to be ongoing continuously and you need to keep on growing that. It doesn't happen from one day to the other. So it's an effort really and also for me personally I feel like I'm so involved in what I do and my day-to-days and my activities that I lose sight of what's interesting to share and what's not so I had to discover that myself as well, like what's worth sharing, what's worth explaining and making it more, what needs to be more detailed, what needs to put some explanation, what's obvious. So that's trial and error. There are no instruction manual for that…

Why Sharing Lessons Learned Matters More Than Certifications

Coming from a medical discipline, my own field, my own network was filled with people showing their newest achievements or their, I don't know, the last courses they took, the last certifications they took. Someone told me that that was very nice and it's something that you need to have to do your job, but no one needs to know that you did that in order to be appreciated. And it would be like the equivalent to broadcast that you have a driver's license when you're driving your car. It's not necessary to broadcast that, but if you need to have it to be able to do it. So that was like the first piece of advice I guess I took. And I realized that it's not necessarily constructive to show all the certifications and that I took, but what I learned from that, and that's much more valuable for other people.

Dreaming About the Future: Seven-Year Aspirations

Tell me what you see yourself doing in seven years. Dream with me. Like, you know, would you be a would you like to be an LP? You know, would you want to do have your own company? Would you want to have multiple companies? Do you want to travel somewhere else and do something? I mean, if you know. Put yourself out there. And of course, this is just dreaming. No one knows. You might. Who knows? But just seven years from now. Well, I think that it took me so long to get here that I'm really enjoying the moment. It was my wish from seven years in the past was to be where I'm now. So now I'm really happy with my situation professionally, my job, my living situation. But I think that traveling is something that motivates me and I'd like to experience that being able to work remotely or having work-related travels or just being a digital nomad. I don't really know. in what way, but I see myself traveling a lot these next few years.

Strategic Conference Attendance

It also depends on your own objective with each event. If it's just for network, if you want to sell services, if you want to sell products, if you want to get providers, if you want to invest, if you want to get funding. I think that you need to have a very clear objective on what you're looking for, and then the decision will become more evident. Also, there's the geographical effect. You can be everywhere at once, and there are some conferences that are more accessible than others, both in terms of, I don't know... geographical area but also economically economically wise no you're totally right…….

Navigating Career Changes and Overcoming Challenges

Well, for me, specifically being or changing my career from clinical specialty into another one, I found that it took me an extra effort to explain what I do or what I could do or what my field of expertise includes and the value that it can add to a specific position. But I noticed that once that I get that through and out of the way, it became very obvious and very appreciated. And actually people, are in demand of that specialty without knowing its title or putting it into a specific wording. So that was a challenge that I had to go myself, but also I feel like there was like a personal mindset that I had to adopt in moving from one thing to another, whether they were specialties, career paths or countries…

Find us & follow us:

Follow us on YouTube

TikTok

Instagram

Twitter / X

Apple

Spotify

Planetary Health First Mars Next is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support our work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

😍 💕 🌍 💜 😊 🚀Most important thing is to subscribe to keep updated with our latest podcasts, newsletters...etc.

Planetary Health First Mars Next is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Planetary Health First Mars Next is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Planetary Health First Mars Next is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

We might just lift off to Mars if the orbit is right! 😍 💕 🌍 💜 😊 🚀

  • In kindness,

  • Michael Mann, (😍 💕)

Disclaimer: the views of the participants are their own only and do not reflect the views of other participants, participants' organizations, etc or Planetary Health First Mars Next or the Host…….

This podcast is for informational purposes only and should not be considered professional or medical advice.

In addition if there are any mistakes or facts that need to be corrected please feel free to reach out to us so we can correct any statement.

Understand we are a self published entity and do the best we can.

0 Comments
Planetary Health First Mars Next
Planetary Health First Mars Next
We are on a mission to transform healthcare by building a dynamic robust diverse community.
Topics include: startups, digital health, health IT, technology in healthcare, payers, hospitals, healthcare systems, pharma, biotech, culture, change, leadership.
Audience is healthcare executives, leaders, healthcare administrators.